How Long Do I Have To File a Lawsuit After Being Injured?
December 9, 2010
If you live in Florida and are injured in an accident due to someone else’s negligence, you have a limited amount of time to file an injury claim. The Florida statute of limitations for a personal injury case is 4 years.
By statute, the limitations period begins to run from the date the injury is, or should have been, discovered.
This means that if you discover an injury from a previous incident, you can file a personal injury claim up to 4 years from the date you are made aware of the injury.
If the injury is severe enough that it results in death, a personal injury action is no longer possible, unless it was started prior to the demise of the victim.
Instead of a personal injury claim, the survivors of the dearly departed will need to file a wrongful death claim, provided it’s done within 2 years.
These timelines might seem like a long period to file, but waiting any amount of time may risk damaging your claim.
It really is critical to take action soon after an accident if you wish to seek compensation for your injuries.
For more information on how the Florida statute of limitations impacts your injury claim, and what other options you may have, call 386/445-9003 today and schedule a FREE consultation.